5 Things That Make Me Feel Amazing

Hello friends,

Recently I’ve been really making an effort to better myself. I started off the year by doing Adriene’s 30 days of yoga challenge and it was life changing. I mean it.

I’m not one to stick to things like this. I get really excited about something and try it for a while, but it never holds. So, for whatever reason, I was determined to complete this challenge. I would never miss a day and always make time to get on my mat.

And I did it.

After that, I was craving healthier habits. Elliot and I started eating a whole lot better and now, we are both feeling the change. So, I thought it would be helpful to share the things that have really been guiding me in living a healthier, happier life

.

1. Switching out my coffee for matcha

This all started after having a little too much coffee one Saturday that resulted in a headache and a lot of anxiety. The next day, I decided to go out and try a matcha latte at one of my favorite cafes, and I’ve been hooked ever since.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

 

The barista explained to me that green tea is so great because it still gives a little energy boost, but it’s over a longer period of time. That way, there’s no afternoon crash and no jitters at the beginning of your day. I was always worried that I wouldn’t be able to make it through a school day without coffee, but it turns out, I can. And I feel so much better for it.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

 

2. Yoga (almost) every day

You knew this one was coming. I’d heard people rave about yoga before but it wasn’t until I forced myself to get on the mat daily that I started to feel all the benefits. I feel my body getting so much stronger, especially my core. And I can’t believe how much more flexible I’ve become.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

I say “almost” every day because life happens. When I was doing the 30 day challenge, there were nights when I would do it way too late just to say I did. It wasn’t helpful for me at that point. So while I do my best to do it every day, if it doesn’t happen, I don’t beat myself up. Mental health is important too.

 

3. Meditation

My sister got me into meditation over the summer, but I’ve been having a lot of trouble staying consistent and doing it regularly. Then, when my mind wouldn’t stop racing the other night, I started doing it again.

It felt so good.

IMG_0899

I really like meditating right before bed because that’s often the time when I need to slow down and focus on the present, instead of worrying about the past or, more often, the future. I always have the best night sleeps after I meditate and I know it’s so much better than staring at my phone.

 

4. Drinking lemon water

When Elliot and I started eating really healthy, we got into drinking lemon water. I go through phases where I crave this stuff. It is so refreshing!

IMG_0848

Plus, I feel like it gives me energy when I need a little pick-me-up. Or maybe that’s just because it’s making me drink more water. Whatever the reason, I highly suggest this.

 

5. Eating lots of veggies for dinner

This one has been really eye opening for me. I love pasta, bread, rice, pretty much any and all carbs. But when we started eating healthier, I couldn’t believe how much better I felt when going to bed, and when waking up the next day, when I had a bowl full of vegetables and a side of protein for dinner.

I also don’t like to limit myself and I was worried that this would leave me with very few options. Turns out, I was totally wrong and I’m finding a whole new way to make buddha bowls that don’t need a lot of carbs. And don’t worry, it’s all still really tasty.

img_1867

 

Keep in mind, I’m not perfect. I sometimes crave fried chicken and want to do nothing else but sit around and watch movies. But when I challenged myself to do more of these things, I started realizing how much better I felt. And now, I crave all of these.

I hope you are all having a lovely day, wherever you are.

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54494-169-6E27261B370EDEDF58C58181E712D330


2 thoughts on “5 Things That Make Me Feel Amazing

Leave a comment